About Us

The BMIF was established in 2009 with the aim to build a fluorescence microscopy facility of the highest international standard. Currently the facility contains over 21 of the latest advanced fluorescence microscopes and associated spectroscopy equipment which are supported by group of specialist staff. 

The core mission of the facility is to

  • Conduct excellent training in specimen preparation, acquisition and analysis of fluorescence microscopy data
  • Provide high end research support to scientists dedicated to biomedical research
  • Provide access to expertise, and enable usage of state-of-the-art imaging
  • Conduct collaborative research in technique development and analysis solutions
  • Develops frontier technologies in bioengineering and bionanotechology
  • To lead Australia in the establishment and testing of new microscopes and imaging technologies

Falling within the UNSW Mark Wainwright Analytical Centre (MWAC), the BMIF has become a world-class imaging facility that enables innovative, cross-disciplinary research at the forefront of fundamental biomolecular sciences.  The BMIF is particularly strong in cell and single molecule imaging.

Our microscopes enable:

  • 2-photon and Intravital Microscopy
  • Biological / Soft Material Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)
  • Confocal Microscopy
  • Epifluorescence for live cell imaging
  • Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (FCS)
  • Fluorometer and Lifetime Spectroscopy
  • Spinning Disc Microscopy
  • Stimulated Emission Depletion (STED) Microscopy
  • Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM)
  • Superresolution Fluorescence Microscopy including photo-activation localisation microscopy (PALM)
  • Time-Resolved Single Molecule Imaging including Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging Microscopy (FLIM)
  • Total Internal Reflection Fluorescence (TIRF) Microscopy


BMIF Scientific Advisory Board:

The BMIF Scientific Advisory Board provides strategic advice on planning, policies, training, grant applications and links with external organisations.

The Board includes:

  • Associate Professor Till Boecking (Chair) - Medical Sciences, Medicine
  • Dr Annemiek Beverdam - Medical Sciences, Medicine
  • Dr Carl Power - MW Analytical Centre, DVC(R)
  • Dr Jelena Rnjak-Kovacina - Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering, Engineering
  • Dr Kate Poole - Medical Sciences, Medicine
  • Dr Nicholas Ariotti - Electron Microscope Unit, DVC(R)/MWAC
  • Professor Pall Thordarson - Chemistry, Science
  • Dr Renee Whan - Biomedical Imaging Facility, DVC(R)/MWAC
  • Dr Peter Reece - Physics, Science
  • Associate Professor Stuart Turville - Kirby Institute, Medicine